History

From a students' project to an association

In 2001, a class of the ninth grade at the waldorf school in hanover decided to get engaged in social issues. Their mentor, Ulrike Langescheid, had lived and worked in Estonia for several years and told the class about the circumstances, under which the Estonian urchins have to live. That's how the students' project "Elagu Elu" (Estonian for: „Es lebe das Leben“) was founded.

In 2002, the class made it's first school trip to Estonia. Along with Mrs Langescheid, the gardening teacher Wolfgang Kelwing and the former student and joiner Henning Stricks accompanied them as persons in support. Both stick to the project still today...

During the following years, the class project was joined by several pupils from lower grades. There were also more an more trips to Estonia for continuing the work.

Elagu Elu became popular even beyond the borders of the waldorf school. Since 2006, the project's members thought about founding an association for creating a legal foundation. These thoughts were realized in 2007: Elagu Elu e.V was founded.

Our work

Motivation

History

The association

Peeteli-Church

Flag_Germany Deutsch

© Copyright by Elagu-Elu

Geschichte

Vom Schülerprojekt zum Verein

Im Jahr 2001 beschloss eine 9. Klasse der Freien Waldorfschule am Maschsee in Hannover sich sozial zu engagieren. Ihre Klassenbetreuerin war Ulrike Langescheid. Sie hatte einige Jahre in Estland gelebt und gearbeitet und erzählte ihrer Klasse von den Lebensumständen der estnischen Straßenkinder. So wurde das Schülerprojekt Elagu Elu (estnisch: „Es lebe das Leben“) gegründet.

2002 fand die erste Fahrt im Zuge einer Klassenfahrt nach Estland statt. Neben Frau Langescheid kamen als Betreuer noch der Gartenbaulehrer Herr Kelwing und der ehemalige Schüler und Tischler Henning Stricks mit. Bei beiden blieb es nicht nur bei dieser einen Fahrt...

Aus dem Klassenprojekt wurde mit der Zeit ein Oberstufenprojekt in das jüngere Schüler nachrückten. In den folgenden Jahren fanden immer wieder Fahrten nach Estland statt, um dort weiterzuarbeiten.

Elagu Elu erlangte Popularität über die Grenzen der Schule und Hannovers hinaus. Ab 2006 wurden Überlegungen laut, einen gemeinnützigen Verein zu gründen, um eine rechtliche Grundlage zu schaffen. 2007 wurden diese Überlegungen in die Tat umgesetzt: Elagu Elu e. V. wurde gegründet.

Unsere Arbeit

Motivation

Geschichte

Der Verein

Peeteli-Kirche

Flag_United_Kingdom English

© Copyright by Elagu-Elu