Motivation

The project was started out of the wish to be involved in social issues. We want to help children, who don't grow up as privilegedly as we do. Through our activitation, we may also experience, how much fun hard work can be, if it is done for a concrete sense. The award for our efforts is, to see, how our work progresses, the social camp is used by Estonian children and to find out, that little help can have a great effect.

In the social camp on Saaremaa, Estonian orphans and street children can have a pleasant time on holidays, when most of the children's homes are closed. Otherwise, they probably would have to live on the street again. Our work makes it possible, that these children can experience several weeks full of fondness and adventures together in a big community, after which everyone is xre-encouraged to return to his everday life.

Most of the street children are of Russian origin. Since the Russian population, as the former occupying power, doesn't have a high reputation in Estonia, the urchins are given only very little aid bei the state. Thus it's our wish to improve their situation.

The terrain on Saaremaa offers many possiblilities for future plans beyond the use as a holiday camp. It could function as a place for social rehabilitation of individual children or adolescents, as a training school for young people, who have already finished school (e.g. in the subjects of gardening, domestic economy, agriculture and forestry) or as a location for international meetings.

Our work

Motivation

History

The association

Peeteli-Church

Flag_Germany Deutsch

© Copyright by Elagu-Elu

Motivation

Das Projekt gründete sich aus dem Wunsch, sich aktiv sozial zu engagieren. Wir wollen Kindern und Jugendlichen helfen, die nicht so privilegiert aufwachsen wie wir. Dabei dürfen wir erfahren, wie viel Spaß körperliche Arbeit machen kann, wenn sie einen Sinn erfüllt. Unser Lohn ist es, zu sehen, wie unsere Arbeit voranschreitet, das Sozialcamp von estnischen Kindern genutzt wird und so zu erfahren, dass man auch im Kleinen helfen kann.

Durch das Sozialcamp auf Saaremaa werden den estnischen Straßen- bzw. Heimkindern erfüllte Ferien geschenkt, in denen sie sonst evtl. „auf die Straße“ zurück müssten, da dass Heim in den Ferien geschlossen hat. Unsere Arbeit ermöglicht es, dass diese Kinder mehrere schöne Wochen, erfüllt mit Zuneigung und Abenteuern, in Gemeinschaft erleben, nach denen sie gestärkt wieder in den Alltag zurückkehren.

Die Straßenkinder sind zum Großteil russischer Herkunft. Da die russische Bevölkerung als ehemalige Besatzungsmacht bei der restlichen Bevölkerung kein gutes Ansehen genießt und die Straßenkinder wenig staatliche Förderung bekommen, ist es unser Wunsch, die Lage dieser Kinder und Jugendlichen zu verbessern.

Das Gelände auf Saaremaa bietet für die Zukunft noch viele Möglichkeiten, die über die Nutzung als Feriencamp hinausgehen, zum Beispiel als Ort der Resozialisierung einzelner Kinder und Jugendlicher von der Straße, als Ausbildungsstätte für junge Menschen nach ihrem Schulabgang (z.B. in den Bereichen Gartenbau, Haus-, Land- und Forstwirtschaft und Holzhandwerk) und als Ort der internationalen Begegnung.

Unsere Arbeit

Motivation

Geschichte

Der Verein

Peeteli-Kirche

Flag_United_Kingdom English

© Copyright by Elagu-Elu